I am now a Mrs.

Posted in Life by Shannon South on June 14, 2011


For anyone who has been wondering where I’ve been or why I haven’t been very active posting here or sending out newsletters or tweeting, it’s because I have been planning my wedding… and then getting married… and finally honeymooning. I got married on June 4th to the most loving, wonderful and brilliant man I’ve ever known (aside from my father), Edward Cotton. We had truly the most perfect wedding I could have ever imagined. It was a lot of work, but there was not one detail I would have changed. Everything really fell in to place beautifully and it was so amazing to see it come together. I felt truly blessed to have such wonderful family and friends there to share this event with.

I’ve always been so in love with the fashion and style of the 1920’s. To me, it is the epitome of American glamour, it is elegant, ageless and something everyone can enjoy. Every time I put my hair in finger waves and wear my Chanel red lipstick and nail polish, I wonder how we got so fashionably lazy as a society and vow to at least paint my nails red more often.

Last summer, Ed and I attended the Jazz Age Lawn Party on Governors Island, put on by Michael Arenella and the Dreamland Orchestra. My mom loves to swing dance, so luckily she was in town and came with us. We all dressed in period. Ed wore blue and white striped seersucker, I wore a dropped waist, pastel floral sun dress, and my mom wore a blue and white seersucker dress with long pearls. The band was AMAZING and we immediately knew we had to have them for our upcoming wedding. (though at the time we were not thinking it would have any sort of theme. We just knew we wanted a band and this band made everyone, of all ages, want to dance.)

We then found a gorgeous inn on Shelter Island (near the Hamptons) that was established in 1929 and couldn’t deny how perfect it would be to have a Gatsby inspired wedding. When we made up the invitations, we added “Jazz Age attire suggested”. We had no idea how many of our guests would want to go through the effort, but to our surprise, 99% dressed in theme. My mother looked amazing, my aunts and uncles, my 9 month old niece, my “new” 12 year old niece and of course all of our friends looked gorgeous. I was just so amazed by how excited everyone was about the theme – it really created such an incredible atmosphere.

We had Nicolette Camille, my old studio neighbor when I was at Dobbin Mews do the flowers and they were truly breathtaking. She did such an amazing job on all of the details. She even made bouquets to match each of the bridesmaid’s dresses. Their dresses were all by the same designer and had similar details, yet they were each unique. They each made their own feather fascinators to match.

Ed & I attended an Outstanding in the Field dinner a few years ago in California and just loved the use of long tables at an outdoor dinner. They are the best for facilitating conversation with the most people. We also mixed our guests up in an unlikely seating arrangement, making sure guests of all ages and connections mingled. It’s so exciting to see the new friendships formed when we look through the photos.

Our photographer, Ben Fraser, brought about five cameras: a digital, a few vintage film cameras, and a really old one that takes one shot on a metal plate. We have to wait about a month before we get his photos back, but I will definitely post about those when I do. Ben also created a photo booth system which everyone loved. A polaroid camera was set up with a big red button that you would press, taking four photos, printing them on the spot and archiving them digitally to his photo site.

Special thanks to Glen, Jenny and Jennifer for all the great photos! Visit our Flickr group to see the rest.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jennifer said, on June 14, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    Congrats Shannon, you looked so beautiful and happy!

  2. Rachelh said, on June 14, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Congratulations! Looks like a wonderful celebration Shannon. Much happiness to you both!

  3. bill & kathy oconnell said, on June 14, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Shannon: Your Dad sent us some photo’s of the georgeous wedding you had. Kerry also sent us some photo’s that you posted, thanks, we were so glad to have seen them, beautiful! We know we missed a beautiful wedding, we are very happy for you and Ed.

    Bill & Kathy

  4. Kelly Chansidine said, on June 14, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Best dressed wedding EVER!! LOVE the fascinators and the theme! Gorgeous! Congrats!

  5. Eva Høydalsvik said, on June 14, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    How wonderful, Shannon! Such a great wedding, with every detail looking perfect.
    lots of hugs, Eva

  6. Michelle said, on June 14, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Love all the care and attention to the details of your wedding! You definitely gave me some fantastic ideas – well done!

  7. sara said, on June 14, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    Dear Shannon, thank you for sharing your special day. Congratulations! Miss you! Sara and Luis ps, please let us know if you’re ever in FL, we’re so close. xo

  8. Weddingish said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Congrats! I saw your wedding on 100 Layer Cake (and subsequently for your blog). The photos were marvelous! I also featured an image on Weddingish’s Facebook page on whether people like a themed wedding such as yours… the response has been AMAZING! 🙂


Leave a Reply

